Wellness + Yoga

How To Balance Your Chakras With These Yoga Flows

What Are Chakras?

As I was sitting and working from home a lot, my anxiety and general well-being started to feel a bit off. As I’m learning so much about our spiritual side, I decided to take a 7-day yoga journey to help balance my chakras.

There are many points within the body

Chakra is energy points within our body that, when balanced, are said to help create calm, peace, and contentment. There are seven main chakra points that most are somewhat familiar with; root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown, but there are much more throughout the body.

The seven main chakra points

The seven main chakra points start at the very base of the spine and work their way up to the very top of the head. Each represents a different element; earth, fire, water, air, etc. And each has an energy or intention aligned to it as well. There are so many fascinating things to learn about our chakras I could go on and on, but for now, I want to share with you the seven yoga flows I followed for seven days to help balance out my chakras. This is a great way if you’re a beginner to start learning about our bodies’ energies and chakras if you are unfamiliar and want to start exploring.

So, let us start at the base, the root or Mooladhara chakra. This flow is to help you connect with yourself or to be rooted (get it 😊) in the earth plane and to cleanse. This practice will definitely get your legs burning, you would think most of the practice would be close to the ground but there is a good mixture of poses. Most of the poses will focus the energy on the lower half of your body.

The second chakra is the sacral or Swadhisthana chakra. This flow is to help open your playfulness and flexibility. It could have been from the day before but today’s flow I definitely felt it in my lower half. More of the poses in this flow are lower to the ground.

The third chakra is the solar plexus or Manipuraka chakra. In this flow, the intention is to focus on clearing out mental clutter and take action on your purpose, um…yes, please! There is a great breathing technique that you really could use any time, but you have to be ok looking (and sounding) a little silly 😉

The fourth point is the heart or Anahata chakra. This is a slower flow and closer to the ground. I think this would be a great one to practice before bed as well as in the morning. This energy point is for love and relationships; think of it as your right to be loved and to love others.

The fifth chakra is the throat or Vishuddhi energy point. This flow will hopefully help release tensions in the upper body. The emotional connection is to creativity, communication, and the ability to speak your truth. This is one of the quicker videos at just under 20 minutes; most of the work is done on the floor. So, this could also be a great one to practice before bed. At the end, she uses Mala beads, and if you’re not familiar with this, I have included a little information at the end 😊

The sixth energy point on our journey up the spine is the third eye or the Agna chakra. The purpose of the point is wisdom, really focus on your purpose execute it and know that we (you) deserve it and own it! Make it happen without excuses.

The last, but certainly not least, is the crown or Sahasrar chakra. The focus here is thought, creating awareness of the universe, and really listening to the messages we are needing to receive. This practice has a great mix of upper and lower body moves with a quick meditation at the end to wrap it all up.

If you can’t tell, these videos are all by the same amazing gal, Allie. If you are new to learning about the seven chakra points like I was, then these videos are great places to start learning. In each video, she gives you a brief overview of each point and its purpose. At the end of the videos, she has you take 27 breaths and count backward. Not really knowing what 27 signified, I did a bit of digging to learn more.

She also used Mala beads at the end of one of her videos, and this is connected to the 27 breaths. Mala is Sanskrit for mediation beads, and it can come as a necklace or bracelet. A necklace has 108 beads that are said to signify the 108 worldly sins in the Buddhist doctrine, but there are also many other perceived reasons for the number 108. Malas come in three forms, 108, 54, and 27 beads. It is believed that divisions of 9 are spiritual, so this is where the number 27 comes into play. Allie has a variety of other videos if you want to learn more, and her amazing channel can be found here:


If you want to learn more about each chakra, click here!

Wishing you love, light and inner peace babes ✌🌈✨💜

How To Balance Your Chakras With These Yoga FlowsHow To Balance Your Chakras With These Yoga Flows


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *